Martlets win 2003 QSSF x-country championship

Martlets win 2003 QSSF x-country championship
Oct 25, 03 

By Earl Zukerman

McGill distance runner Cathy Pierrin won the women's individual title and earned conference MVP honours as the Martlets captured the Quebec university cross-country championship on Saturday at the Le Centre de Nature in the Duvernay region of Laval, Que. McGill also placed runners in third fourth, fifth and sixth spots to score 19 points overall. Laval was second with 49, followed by Sherbrooke with 102.

On the men's side, Laval swept all three podium positions, led by conference MVP Charles Nadeau, who won gold to lead the Rouge et Or to the men's title with 23 points. McGill was second (44), followed by Sherbrooke (61).

Pierrin, a 24-year-old native of Aix-en-Provence, France, completed the grueling five-kilometre course in 19 minutes, 11 seconds to win the gold medal by 53 seconds ahead of Laval's Veronique Fortin. It was the third gold medal of the season for Pierrin, a first-year engineering student. Teammate Erin Prost finished third in 20:17 and was voted rookie of the year in the Quebec conference.

It was a clean sweep of awards for McGill as head coach Dennis Barrett received coach-of-the-year honours. McGill also dominated the all-conference team with six women among the seven honorees. Joining Pierrin and Prosk as all-stars were Annick Michaud of Montreal, who finished fourth in the race (20:23), plus Anna Potapov (5th, 20:32), a medical student from Dollard des Ormeaux, Que., Laura Wilson (6th, 20:35) of Sarnia, Ont., and Jessalyn O'Donnell (7th, 20:48) of Duncan, B.C.

In the 10k men's race, Nadeau finished in 34:25, only five seconds ahead of Laval teammate Daniel Blouin and nine seconds ahead of Guillaume Vachon, also from the Rouge et Or They each earned all-conference honours, along with Francois Menard of Sherbrooke, who was fourth (34:45), McGill's Jeff McCabe (5th, 35:04) of Toronto, plus Laval's David Savard-Gagnon (6th, 35:28) and McGill's Patrick McAuliffe (7th, 35:32), a native of Seattle, Wash.

McGill freshman Adrian Walton, a 19-year-old music student from London, Ont., was voted rookie-of-the-year and Laval's Vincent Paquet was selected coach of the year.

McGill will send their top eight women finishers, including Genevieve Jenkins of Mission Viejo, Calif., to the CIS national championships in Moncton, Nov. 7-8.

For further info: Earl Zukerman, Communications Officer, McGill Athletics (514) 398-7012

(at Le Centre de Nature at Duvernay, Laval, Que.)

1. McGill, 19 pts (1, 3, 4, 5, 6)
2. Laval, 49 pts (2, 8, 12, 13, 14)
3. Sherbrooke, 102 pts (15, 20, 21, 22, 24)

(5k race)

1. Cathy Pierrin, McGill, 19:11
2. Veronique Fortin, Laval, 20:04
3. Erin Prosk, McGill, 20:17
4. Annick Michaud, McGill, 20:23
5. Anna Potapov, McGill, 20:32
6. Laura Wilson, McGill, 20:35
7. Jessalyn O'Donnell, McGill, 20:48

ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Cathy Pierrin, McGill
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Erin Prosk, McGill
COACH OF THE YEAR: Dennis Barrett, McGill

1. Laval, 23 pts (1, 2, 3, 6, 11)
2. McGill, 44 pts (5, 7, 8, 10, 14)
3. Sherbrooke, 61 pts (4, 9, 15, 16, 17)

(10k race):

1. Charles Nadeau, Laval, 34:25
2. Daniel Blouin, Laval, 34:30
3. Guillaume Vachon, Laval, 34:34
4. Francois Menard, Sherbrooke, 34:45
5. Jeff McCabe, McGill, 35:04
6. David Savard-Gagnon, Laval, 35:28
7. Patrick McAuliffe, McGill, 35:32

ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Charles Nadeau, Laval
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Adrian Walton, McGill 

COACH OF THE YEAR: Vincent Paquet, Laval