McGill sends eight to x-country championships

McGill sends eight to x-country championships

Nov 07, 07 Cross Country (W)
By Earl Zukerman & Michel Bélanger

VICTORIA - McGill University is sending seven women and one man to compete at the CIS cross-country running championships at Beacon Hill Park, in Victoria, B.C.

The five-kilometre women's race will get under way at 1 p.m. Pacific Time on Saturday, followed 40 minutes later by the 10k men's event.

The University of Victoria Vikes are hoping to reverse the curse of the host team. They are the only school to capture the CIS women's title at home since the inaugural national race was held in 1980, an exploit the Vikes accomplished 20 years ago, in 1987.

Championship hosts haven't fared much better on the men's side over the years as only two schools have used home field to their advantage since the inaugural CIS event in 1963. Ottawa did so in 1990, and Toronto in 1978.

The Vikes hold the record with nine CIS women's banners but haven't tasted victory since a four-year championship run from 1998-2001.

The UVic men had a four-year title run of their own from 1994-97, but did not top the standings before or since.

The University of Guelph goes into the weekend as favourite in both races, one year after becoming the first school since Victoria in 1994 to leave the CIS championship with double team gold.

The reigning champion Gryphons swept both OUA titles this season and led all seven national women's rankings published this fall, and five of seven men's polls.

The Gryphs are led by 2007 OUA individual gold medalists Lindsay Carson and Kyle Boorsma.

In Quebec, the McGill Martlets claimed the women's team title thanks in large part to Lauren Whyte's gold-medal finish, while the Sherbrooke Vert & Or were crowned men's champions, led by individual winner Alex Genest.

Whyte missed the podium by one second at last year's CIS championship, while Genest took silver and received CIS rookie-of-the-year honours.

In the AUS, StFX captured three of four titles up for grabs this fall.

Monika Prieboschova and David Gerych both won individual gold and the X-Women finished first in the team standings. The men's banner went to the Dalhousie Tigers.

The Canada West conference doesn't hold its own championships in cross country. Top finishers at the Nationals are considered Canada West champions.

Calgary's Geoff Kerr, last year's CIS gold medalist, is back for his fifth and final season and is aiming to become only the fourth five-time all-Canadian in CIS cross country history following Memorial's Paul McCloy (1980, '81, '83, '84, '85), Ottawa's John Halvorsen (1985, '86, '87, '88, '90) and Moncton's Joel Bourgeois (1989, '90, '91, '92, '94).

Prior to his triumph in 2006, Kerr placed on the second all-Canadian team (finishers 8-14) on three occasions after finishing 11th at the 2005 Nationals, 13th in 2004 and 14th in 2002. He took a year off from CIS competition in 2003.



2006 Guelph (at Laval)
2005 Guelph (at Dalhousie)
2004 Dalhousie (at Guelph)
2003 Calgary (at Moncton)
2002 Toronto (at Western)
2001 Victoria (at Sherbrooke)
2000 Victoria (at Toronto)
1999 Victoria (at RMC / Queen's)
1998 Victoria (at Waterloo)
1997 Guelph (at Western)
1996 Waterloo (at McGill)
1995 Windsor (at Western)
1994 Victoria (at Western)
1993 Calgary (at Dalhousie)
1992 Calgary (at McGill)
1991 Toronto (at Victoria)
1990 Western (at Ottawa)
1989 Western (at UBC)
1988 Western (at Laval)
1987 Victoria (at Victoria)
1986 Victoria (at Western)
1985 Victoria (at Sherbrooke)
1984 Western (at Guelph)
1983 Western (at Laurentian)
1982 Western (at Laurentian)
1981 Western (at Lethbridge)
1980 Victoria (at Guelph)


2006 Guelph (at Laval)
2005 Windsor (at Dalhousie)
2004 Windsor (at Guelph)
2003 Windsor (at Moncton)
2002 Guelph (at Western)
2001 Guelph (at Sherbrooke)
2000 Guelph (at Toronto)
1999 Guelph (at RMC / Queen's)
1998 Windsor (at Waterloo)
1997 Victoria (at Western)
1996 Victoria (at McGill)
1995 Victoria (at Western)
1994 Victoria (at Western)
1993 UBC (at Dalhousie)
1992 Sherbrooke (at McGill)
1991 Toronto (at Victoria)
1990 Ottawa (at Ottawa)
1989 Manitoba (at UBC)
1988 Manitoba (at Laval)
1987 Ottawa (at Victoria)
1986 Ottawa (at Western)
1985 Western (at Sherbrooke)
1984 Queen's (at Guelph)
1983 Queen's (at Laurentian)
1982 Toronto (at Laurentian)
1981 Queen's (at Lethbridge)
1980 Alberta (at Guelph)
1979 Queen's (at Toronto)
1978 Toronto (at Toronto)
1977 Toronto (at Queen's)
1976 Western (at Guelph)
1975 Toronto (at Victoria)
1974 Toronto (at Guelph)
1973 OUAA All-Stars (at RMC / Queen's)
1972 OUAA All-Stars (at RMC)
1971 Western (at UNB)
1970 Western (at UBC)
1969 Guelph (at MacDonald)
1968 Saskatchewan (at Dalhousie)
1967 Toronto (at Guelph)
1966 Toronto (at Guelph)
1965 Toronto (at Guelph)
1964 Manitoba (at Guelph)
1963 McMaster (at Guelph)



2006 Megan Brown, Toronto
2005 Beth Wightman, Toronto
2004 Kristina Rody, Guelph
2003 Beth Wightman, Queen's
2002 Sarah Dillabaugh, Ottawa
2001 Beth Wightman, Queen's
2000 Debbie Buhlers, Waterloo
1999 Teresa Duck, Western
1998 Nathalie Côté, Ottawa
1997 Nathalie Côté, Ottawa
1996 Nathalie Côté, Ottawa
1995 Missy McCleary, Windsor
1994 Linda Thyer, McGill
1993 Lisa Harvey, Calgary
1992 Lisa Harvey, Calgary
1991 Anna Gunasekera, Victoria
1990 Anna Gunasekera, Victoria
1989 Lucy Smith, Dalhousie
1988 Lucy Smith, Dalhousie
1987 Brenda Shackleton, Victoria
1986 Brenda Shackleton, Victoria
1985 Brenda Shackleton, Victoria
1984 Jill Purola, Western
1983 Sylvia Ruegger, Guelph
1982 Nancy Rooks, York
1981 Anne-Marie Malone, Queen's
1980 Sylvia Ruegger, Guelph


2006 Geoffrey Kerr, Calgary
2005 Cristiano Mauricio, Windsor
2004 Cristiano Mauricio, Windsor
2003 Eric Gillis, StFX
2002 Jamie Epp, Saskatchewan
2001 Jerry Ziak, Victoria
2000 Jamie Epp, Saskatchewan
1999 Graham Cocksedge, Victoria
1998 Jeremy Deere, Calgary
1997 Guy Schultz, Western
1996 Éric Jobin, Sherbrooke
1995 Jeff Schiebler, UBC
1994 Joël Bourgeois, Moncton
1993 Brendan Matthias, Toronto
1992 Graeme Fell, UBC
1991 Brendan Matthias, Toronto
1990 John Halvorsen, Ottawa
1989 Richard Charrette, Ottawa
1988 John Halvorsen, Ottawa
1987 John Halvorsen, Ottawa
1986 John Halvorsen, Ottawa
1985 Bob Rice, Ottawa
1984 Paul McCloy, Memorial
1983 Paul McCloy, Memorial
1982 Brian Rhodes, Alberta
1981 Paul McCloy, Memorial
1980 Paul Williams, Toronto
1979 Peter Butler, Calgary
1978 Paul Williams, Toronto
1977 Paul Williams, Guelph
1976 Brian Stride, Brock
1975 Information not available
1974 John Sharp, Toronto
1973 John Sharp, Toronto
1972 Rick Munro, Dalhousie
1971 Grant McLaren, Western
1970 Dave Smith, York
1969 Grant McLaren, Guelph
1968 Dave Smith, York
1967 David Bailey, Toronto
1966 David Bailey, Toronto
1965 Jerome Drayton, Toronto
1964 Chris Williamson, UNB
1963 Bruce Kidd, Toronto

- CIS -

For more information please contact:

Mike Tucker
Vikes Communications Officer
Ph: (250) 721-8725
Fax: (250) 721-8956

Michel Bélanger
CIS Communications manager Cell: (613) 447-6334