McGill track and cross-country award winners announced at gala

McGill track and cross-country award winners announced at gala

Apr. 29, 2011

MONTREAL -- Sarah McCuaig of Waterloo, Ont., was a triple award winner at the 14th annual McGill University track and cross-country awards gala, held on campus at Thompson House, Friday.

The 21-year-old physiology sophomore was named as the Martlets Team MVP in both sports, in addition to earning the most improved athlete award in track. She was the Quebec conference champion in cross-country, where she earned all-Canadian second-team honours. In track, McCuaig captured four gold medals at the conference championships and helped McGill win bronze in the 4x800 at Nationals.

On the men's side, Jay Boychuk of Pickering, Ont., was announced as both cross-country MVP and rookie of the year, while Maxime Beaumont-Courteau of Montreal, earned similar double honours in track.

Gina Pinsonnault-Bilodeau, a physical education senior from Brossard, Que., received the Andrea Taylor Memorial Award, presented to a female member of the track team who contributes something unique to the team, promotes unity, and demonstrates the exceptional characteristics for which the late former McGill athlete, was renowned.

Joining Boychuk for rookie-of-the-year honours was cross-country's Ouiam Aabaliq of Laval, Que., in addition to track freshmen Sarah Solnit of Bath, N.H., and Nick Busque of Lititz, Penn.

Joining McCuaig and Beaumont-Courteau for most improved honours was cross-country'sMadeleine Cummings and Oliver Foster, both from Toronto.

Dennis Barrett, capped off his 26th season as head coach, by announcing the new team captains for next season. McCuaig and Genevieve Blanchard of Sherbrooke, Que., were named co-captains for the Martlets, while Boychuk and Cameron McIntyre of Whitby, Ont., will share the captaincy on the Redmen.

Each of the team's 10 graduating seniors received gifts, including Beaumont-Courteau and Pinsonnault-Bilodeau, plus Jennifer Brown of Shoal Harbour, Nfld., Alison Cameron-Vendrigof Ottawa, Tania Giannone of Lorraine, Que., Melinda-Megan Rock of Baie Comeau, Que.,Daniel Kramer of Swampscott, Mass., Graydon Snider of Ottawa, Stephanie Harris of Calgary and Zaria Stoffman of Vancouver, B.C.


Earl Zukerman
Communications Officer
Athletics & Recreation
McGill University
514-398-7012 (tel.) (mobile website)