Six inductees announced for 2010 McGill Sports Hall of Fame

Six inductees announced for 2010 McGill Sports Hall of Fame

Jun. 21, 2010

MONTREAL - Former Olympic swimmer Richard Pound, who went on to a lengthy administrative career with the International Olympic Committee, headlines a new cast of six inductees announced for the McGill Sports Hall of Fame, bringing the list of honoured members to 101 since the pantheon opened in 1996.

Other honourees include Val St. Germain, a stellar offensive lineman from Ottawa, who played 14 seasons in the Canadian Football League, plus Tambra Dunn, a highly-decorated distance runner from St. Bruno, Que., and striker Brian Decaire of Beaconsfield, Que., who captained the soccer Redmen to a national championship in 1981.

Selected in the builder category is Bob Pugh, originally from Verdun, Que., and a resident of Manotick, Ont., who coached football and hockey and served 13 years as director of athletics at the University's Macdonald campus, before embarking on a long career as executive president of the Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union.

Rounding out the slate is McGill's legendary 1919 Yates Cup championship football team, which outscored their opponents by a lopsided 94-8 margin and featured a defence that did not concede a single touchdown.

The induction luncheon, scheduled for Thursday, Sept. 30, 2010, officially kicks off the University's Homecoming Week celebrations. Tickets for the event are $65 and can be reserved by contacting Kathryn Weaver at or 514-398-7002.

Submissions for future McGill inductions can be made by obtaining a nomination brochure from the department of athletics. A list of previous inductees can be found online at (

The selection committee, chaired by John Cleghorn, was composed of a group representing students, administrative staff, university officials and alumni, including Prof. David Covo, Tom Thompson, Dr. Alan Mann, Mike Nelson, Dawson Tilley, Sally McDougall, Gael Eakin, Bob Winsor, Robert Watt, Stephen Lloyd, Rebecca Martindale, Skylar Adams, Drew Love (secretary), Kathryn Weaver (recording secretary) and Earl Zukerman (research coordinator).

NOTE: Detailed profiles of each new inductee will be profiled online each day this week

Earl Zukerman
Communications Officer
Athletics & Recreation
McGill University
514-398-7012 (tel.) (mobile website)